Merom Brachman, *Chairman* Mark A. Vander Laan, *Vice Chairman* Bruce E. Bailey Megan C. Kelley Julie A. Rutter Elizabeth E. Tracy



OHIO ETHICS COMMISSION William Green Building 30 West Spring Street, L3 Columbus, Ohio 43215-2256 Telephone: (614) 466-7090 Fax: (614) 466-8368

www.ethics.ohio.gov

Paul M. Nick Executive Director

January 23, 2023

For more information, contact: Paul M. Nick Executive Director (614) 466-7091 paul.nick@ethics.ohio.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

## ETHICS COMMISSION REVIEWS YEAR-END STATISTICS AND ELECTS LEADERSHIP

In the first 2023 meeting of the Ohio Ethics Commission on January 19, data from the past year was reviewed and discussed. Staff issued 199 written opinions providing guidance to public officials and employees on complying with the Ethics Law. Along with State government requests, 76 percent of these opinions went to officials from counties, cities, villages, and townships around Ohio.

In responding to allegations of conflicts of interest or public contract violations by officials and employees, the Commission conducted 157 investigations, including 38 that were being resolved by settlement agreements to cease improper conduct.

Statewide, the Commission's education manager reported on presenting 172 trainings and 52 webinars, in addition to creating an on-demand, one hour e-course that was viewed by almost 50,000 Ohioans.

Executive Director Paul M. Nick commented on support for recent General Assembly initiatives proposed to enhance the Commission's oversight authority, including more direct work with the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation, and updating financial disclosure requirements.

On the new proposals, Chairman Merom Brachman added, "The Commission welcomes the opportunity to work with both the Ohio House and Senate on objectives to assist clear-cut enforcement of statutory procedures under the Law."

In its annual selection of officers, the Commission re-elected Chairman Brachman (R-Bexley) and Vice Chairman Mark Vander Laan (D-Cincinnati). Biographies of all members are available on the <u>Commission Member page</u> of the Commission's website.

###